Coats, 48 Senators Introduce Bipartisan Resolution to Block EPA Regulations for Existing Power Sources


WASHINGTON, D.C. – October 29, 2015 – (RealEstateRama) — Senator Dan Coats (R-Ind.), along with a bipartisan group of 48 senators, today introduced a resolution of disapproval of the Environmental Protection Agency’s (EPA) proposed Clean Power Plan regulations for existing power plants.

“This carbon dioxide rule is misguided and overburdens states like Indiana that rely on coal for the majority of electricity generation,” said Coats. “This administration – without proper authority – essentially is restructuring our electricity grid toward more expensive and less reliable resources. We need to stop these rules before the EPA’s actions shut down power plants, raise electricity bills and harm our economy. Congress must act on this resolution and send a clear message to the Obama Administration.”

The resolution was introduced by Senators Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.) and Heidi Heitkamp (D-N.D.) and is co-sponsored by Senators Coats, Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.), Jim Inhofe (R-Okla.), Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska), Lamar Alexander (R-Tenn.), John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), Roy Blunt (R-Mo.), John Boozman (R-Ark.), Bill Cassidy (R-La.), Thad Cochran (R-Miss.); Bob Corker (R-Tenn.); John Cornyn (R-Texas); Tom Cotton (R-Ark.), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Ted Cruz (R-Texas), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), Mike Enzi (R-Wyo.), Joni Ernst (R-Iowa), Deb Fischer (R-Neb.), Jeff Flake (R-Fla.), Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.), Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa), Orrin Hatch (R-Utah), John Hoeven (R-N.D.), Johnny Isakson (R-Ga.), Ron Johnson (R-Wis.), James Lankford (R-Okla.), Mike Lee (R-Utah), Joe Manchin (D-W.Va.), John McCain (R-Ariz.), Jerry Moran (R-Kan.), Rand Paul (R-Ky.), David Perdue (R-Ga.), Jim Risch (R-Idaho), Pat Roberts (R-Kan.), Mike Rounds (R-S.D.), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), Ben Sasse (R-Neb.), Tim Scott (R-S.C.), Jeff Sessions (R-Ala.), Richard Shelby (R-Ala.), Dan Sullivan (R-Alaska), John Thune (R-S.D.), Thom Tillis (R-N.C.), Pat Toomey (R-Pa.), David Vitter (R-La.) and Roger Wicker (R-Miss.).

View the bipartisan resolution here.

Indiana is one of 24 states that has joined a lawsuit to challenge the EPA’s climate change rules.

Previous articleState Regulators Encourage Licensees to Renew Early through NMLS
Next articleCardin, Mikulski, Cummings, Ruppersberger, Sarbanes Announce $10 Million In Federal Funds For Major Transportation Infrastructure Improvements At Port Of Baltimore Supporting Maryland Jobs