Consumers Energy Foundation Awards Grants Worth $20,975 in 20 Counties to Recognize Employee, Retiree Volunteerism


WASHINGTON, D.C. – October 27, 2015 – (RealEstateRama) — The Consumers Energy Foundation announced today it has awarded 44 volunteer grants worth $20,975 to nonprofit organizations across Michigan to recognize outstanding volunteerism by Consumers Energy employees and retirees.

The foundation awards Volunteer Investment Program grants to encourage and reward volunteerism by those who work or have worked for Consumers Energy.

The Consumers Energy Foundation is the philanthropic arm of Consumers Energy. It provides funding for a variety of areas including education, community, civic and cultural development, social services, the environment, and emerging issues.

Michigan nonprofit organizations received more than $10 million in contributions in 2014 from Consumers Energy, employees, retirees, its foundation and parent company CMS Energy.

The following is a list of third-quarter Volunteer Investment Program grants and volunteers:


  • $550 to Hastings Area Schools First Robotics Team: Frederick Thomas


  • $800 to Essexville-Hampton Little League Mid-Michigan Lightning Girls 14U Softball: Robert Yacks
  • $300 to Essexville-Hampton Lions: Retiree Len Bobick
  • $300 to Special Olympics Michigan Area 9 3-Day Event: Michael Maida
  • $750 to St. Paul Lutheran School Rocket Club and First Robotics Lego League: Pattie Blazejewski, Kevin Blazejewski, Jeff Eastman and retiree Donald Krueger


  • $200 to Lakeview Food Pantry: Retiree Norman Hewitt
  • $550 to Wattles Park Men’s Club Fall and Spring Soccer: Fernando Cruz


  • $450 to E.U.P. Community Foundation Alliance: Anne Bartkus


  • $550 to Cub Scout Pack 502: Jennifer Partlan
  • $450 to DeWitt Area Recreation Authority Youth Softball and Soccer: Adam Bertram


  • $450 to Charlotte Junior Orioles: Christy Robbins-Grace

Grand Traverse

  • $550 to Traverse City Area Youth Football Association: Joseph Vokes


  • $550 to University of Michigan Alumni Club of Hillsdale County: Ashley Bancroft


  • $225 to American Red Cross Central and Northern Michigan Region: Retiree Bill Keys
  • $450 to St. Thomas Aquinas School: Brian Muschong


  • $450 to City of Jackson Parks and Recreation Department Youth Soccer: Erin Hurd
  • $500 to Community Action Agency of Jackson, Lenawee and Hillsdale VITA Program: Mary Austin, Kathleen Balance, Darlene Peppers-Rodriguez, Troy Proctor, Angela Rodriguez and retirees Ron Boomstra, Mike Butchart, Marylou Dominick, Vickie Fountain, Alex Keppeler, Sam Lalomia, Maria Raser, Faith Rueckert, James D. Smith, Nancy Straub, David Yohe and Mike Carmody
  • $450 to Concord Youth Association: Retiree James D. Smith
  • $600 to East Jackson Community Schools Art, Science and Math Class: Retiree Judy Smith
  • $750 to East Jackson Community Schools Baseball Program: Retiree Judy Smith
  • $700 to Finesse Fastpitch Softball: David Hatler and retiree Melissa Hatler
  • $450 to Hanover-Horton 10U Girls Softball: Kevin Watkins
  • $450 to Hanover-Horton 14U Girls Softball: Kevin Watkins
  • $600 to Hanover-Horton Girls High School Soccer Club: Anthony Manarin
  • $750 to Jackson Area Hockey Association: Dave Kloack, Tom Esser and Todd Post
  • $375 to Jackson County Department on Aging: Diane L. Derby and retirees Michael Butchart, Sharon Best and Sue Fuller
  • $550 to Jackson Generals Travel Hockey 2002: Rebecca Kosnik
  • $500 to Jackson Host Lions Club: Retirees David DesNoyer, James Dunn, Tom Heikkinen, Richard Colony, Roberta Sexton and Nancy Koker
  • $450 to Jackson Public Schools Parkside 14U Competitive Baseball Club: Steven Schenkel
  • $250 to Munith Lions Club: Retiree Janet Sanders
  • $225 to Spring Arbor Free Methodist Church Missions Program: Carol Ann Bunnell


  • $550 to East Kentwood Football: Reynaldo Fontanez Jr.
  • $550 to Karate for Christ of Michigan: Corey Williams


  • $450 to Great Lakes Prep JV Hockey League: Audra Cumberworth


  • $400 to L’Anse Creuse High School Marching Band: Lenore Lentz


  • $150 to Sable Points Lighthouse Keepers Association: Retiree Vonda Belanger


  • $550 to Montabella Equestrian Team: Carrie Harkness


  • $650 to Muskegon Catholic Central High School: Roger Morgenstern


  • $400 to Grant High School Volleyball Program: Steve Whitney


  • $275 to Alex’s Arcade: Adam House
  • $225 to Mind Over Matter: Brandon Casanta


  • $500 to Dusty Dudes 4-H Saginaw County: Lisa Gross and Aaron Gross


  • $600 to Redford Seahawks Youth Sports: Kimberly Herbert
  • $500 to Starfish Family Services: Retiree Laura Mountcastle

Consumers Energy, Michigan’s largest utility, is the principal subsidiary of CMS Energy (NYSE: CMS), providing natural gas and electricity to 6.6 million of the state’s 10 million residents in all 68 Lower Peninsula counties.

Media Contacts: Brian Wheeler, 517-788-2394, or Terry DeDoes, 517-374-2159

For more information about Consumers Energy, go to

Previous articleWhitfield To Introduce Cap and Trade Congressional Review Act Resolutions MONDAY