Dr. Bucshon Votes to Keep Hoosier Energy Affordable


WASHINGTON, DC – December 02, 2015 – (RealEstateRama) — The House of Representatives today passed S.J. Res. 23 and S.J. Res. 24, two resolutions that provide for congressional disapproval (under chapter 8 of title 5, United States Code) of the EPA’s unprecedented regulations on both new and existing fossil-fuel fired power plants.

During debate on the House floor, Eighth District Congressman Larry Bucshon, M.D. spoke in support of the resolutions expressing his disapproval of the EPA’s overreach. Full text of his floor speech is included below and video can be accessed here: https://youtu.be/P75HXKb379c.

“Mr. Speaker, I rise in support of S.J. Res. 24 which expresses congressional disapproval under the Congressional Review Act of the EPA’s rule on existing power plants. I also support S.J. Res 23 which was just debated.

“According to EPA’s own cost-benefit analysis, these regulations would do very little to impact global temperatures, but these regulations will without a doubt be devastating for Hoosier businesses and families that rely on affordable energy.

“Those hurt the most will be the poor and seniors on a fixed income.

“Advances in how we produce energy should be achieved through innovation, technology, and efficient business practices, not by unobtainable federal government mandates from the EPA.

“Mr. Speaker, Indiana disapproves of the EPA’s attack on our state’s economy and our state’s jobs. I urge my colleges to reject this overreach by supporting S.J. Res. 23 and 24.

“Thank you, I yield back.”

To date, 27 states have filed challenges to the rule on existing plants and 23 states are challenging the rule for new plants. S.J. Res. 23 passed by a vote of 235-188 and S.J. Res. 24 passed by a vote of 242-180.

Congressman Larry Bucshon, M.D. is a physician and Republican member of the House Energy and Commerce Committee serving his third term representing Indiana’s 8th Congressional district. The 8th District of Indiana includes all or parts of Clay, Crawford, Daviess, Dubois, Gibson, Greene, Knox, Martin, Owen, Parke, Perry, Pike, Posey, Spencer, Sullivan, Vanderburgh, Vermillion, Vigo, and Warrick counties.

Previous articleMayor Lee & Board President Breed Call For November 2016 Charter Amendment To Increase Affordable Housing Requirements For New Development
Next articleLatta Votes To Protect Affordable, Reliable American Energy