Institute Announces 2016 Executive Team, New Board Members


Washington, D.C. – February 8, 2016 – (RealEstateRama) — The 2016 National Institute of Building Sciences Board of Directors is now in place. The Executive Team includes Stephen T. Ayers, FAIA, LEED AP as chair; Joseph Donovan as vice chair; Joy Marshall Ortiz, AIA, NCARB as secretary; and Wally E. Bailey as treasurer. New members to the Board include Paul R. Bertram, Jr., FCSI, CDT, LEED AP BD+C, GGP, and Anne M. Ellis, PE, FACI, FASCE.

Stephen T. Ayers, FAIA, LEED AP is Architect of the Capitol. He is responsible for the facilities, maintenance and operation of the historic U.S. Capitol Building, more than 460 acres of Capitol grounds and 17.4 million square feet of buildings, including the House and Senate Congressional Office Buildings, the Capitol Visitors Center, the Library of Congress, the U.S. Supreme Court, the Thurgood Marshall Federal Judiciary Building and other facilities. Ayers represents federal agency officials in the public interest category.

Joseph Donovan is senior vice president at Beacon Capital Partners, a privately held real estate investment firm with domestic and international offices. He oversees and directs emergency response for the firm’s 30 million square-foot portfolio. Appointed to the Institute Board by President Obama, Donovan represents consumers in the public interest category.

Joy Marshall Ortiz, AIA, NCARB, is executive vice president of The Marshall Group (TMG), an architectural firm located in Reston, Virginia. She is responsible for the day-to-day operations of the firm and serves as project manager and lead designer on major TMG projects. Ortiz represents architects in the public interest category.

Wally E. Bailey, director of development services for the City of Fort Smith, Ark., heads the city’s administration and enforcement of building safety, neighborhood services, historic preservation and land development divisions. He represents local code officials in the public interest category.

New Board member Paul R. Bertram, Jr., FCSI, CDT, LEED AP BD+C, GCP is director of environment, sustainability and government affairs for Kingspan Insulated Panels, where he is responsible for the company’s environmental and energy-efficiency strategies. Formerly the director of environment  and sustainability at the North American Insulation Manufacturers Association, Bertram also is a past president of the Construction Specifications Institute. He will serve a three-year term, representing material manufacturers in the industry sector category.

Anne M. Ellis, PE, FACI, FASCE is vice president and innovation and knowledge share director at AECOM, where she is responsible for the enterprise-wide program to identify, capture and leverage AECOM’s innovation solutions and IP assets that benefit AECOM’s clients. A past president of the American Concrete Institute (ACI), Ellis also was appointed by the U.S. Secretary of Commerce to serve on the Environmental Technologies Trade Advisor Committee. She will serve a three-year term, representing contractors in the industry sector category.

Both Ayers and Ortiz were re-elected for a second three-year term on the Board. In addition, Cindy L. Davis, CBO, Deputy Director, Division of Building & Fire Regulation, Virginia Department of Housing and Community Development, returns for a second term. She represents state officials in the public interest category.

The Institute’s Nominations Committee recommended the slate of officers, returning board members and new members, which the Board unanimously approved at their meeting in September. The officers and members were seated following the January 15 Board meeting during Building Innovation 2016: The National Institute of Building Sciences Annual Conference & Expo, held January 11-15, 2016, in Arlington, Virginia.

They all join presiding Board members Cheryl R. English, FIES, LC, of Acuity Brands; Timothy H. Haahs, PE, AIA, of Timothy Haahs & Associates; Richard Hayter, PE (retired), Kansas State University; Carl Hedde of Munich Reinsurance America, Inc.; Thomas Izbicki, PE, FSFPE of Rolf Jensen & Associates, Inc., Eric Lamb of DPR Construction; Brian Larson, PE, of Stantec Consulting Services, Inc.; Susan A. Maxman, FAIA; Thomas L. Mitchell, Jr., CFM, IFMA Fellow, of FM3IS Associates, LLC; James “Tim” T. Ryan, CBO, City of Overland Park, Kansas; Jerry Shaheen, LEED AP BD+C, of the Gilbane Building Company; Charles W. Steger, PhD, FAIA, of Virginia Tech; James Timberlake, FAIA, of KieranTimberlake; and Mary B. Verner, MES, JD, Washington State Department of Natural Resources.

Dwight “Sonny” M. Richardson, Jr., owner of Richardson Home Builders, Inc. in Tuscaloosa, Alabama, and Steven R. Winkel, FAIA, PE, partner of The Preview Group, Inc., and manager of the firm’s San Francisco Bay Area office, both retired from the Board but will remain active on several program committees within the Institute.

Previous articleFHFA Proposes Long Delayed Duty to Serve Rules
Next articleNREL Helps Establish New PV Quality Standards for Manufacturers