MSHA awards $8.4M in state grants in 47 states


Funds provide U.S. mine workers with safety and health training

ARLINGTON, Va. — The U.S. Department of Labor’s Mine Safety and Health Administration has awarded $8,441,000 in grant funding to 47 states and the Navajo Nation to reduce mining accidents, injuries and illnesses by supporting safety and health training courses and other programs.

Grantees will use the funds to provide miners with federally mandated training. The grants cover training and retraining of miners working at surface and underground coal and metal and nonmetal mines, including miners engaged in shell dredging or employed at surface stone, sand and gravel mining operations.

Grants were awarded in fiscal year 2015 based on applications from states, and they are administered by state mine inspectors’ offices, state departments of labor, and state-supported colleges and universities. Each recipient tailors the program to the needs of its mines and miners — including mining conditions and hazards miners may encounter — and provides technical assistance.

“Training of our nation’s miners is critical to miners’ safety and health, and thousands of miners receive training through these state grants,” said Joseph A. Main, assistant secretary of labor for mine safety and health.

Authorized by the Federal Coal Mine Health and Safety Act of 1969, the state’s grants programs have received funds to provide safety and health training to miners since 1971.

In addition to safety and health training, some states use these grants to support their mine emergency response efforts and other Mine Act functions.

Editor’s note: A list of grantees follows this release.

MSHA FY 2015 State Grant Awards

State Grantee City Amount
Alabama Bevill State Community College Sumiton


Alaska University of Alaska Fairbanks Fairbanks


Arizona Arizona State Mine Inspector Phoenix


Arkansas Arkansas Department of Labor Little Rock


California California Department of Industrial Relations Chico


Colorado Colorado Department of Natural Resources Denver


Connecticut Central Connecticut State University New Britain


Florida Tallahassee Community College Tallahassee


Georgia Technical College System of Georgia Atlanta


Idaho North Idaho College Post Falls


Illinois Illinois Department of Natural Resources Springfield


Indiana Vincennes University Vincennes


Iowa Eastern Iowa Community Colleges Davenport


Kansas Hutchinson Community College Hutchinson


Kentucky Kentucky Energy and Environment Cabinet Frankfort


Louisiana Northshore Technical Community College Greensburg


Maine Maine Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Standards Augusta


Maryland Maryland Department of the Environment La Plata


Massachusetts Massachusetts Department of Labor Standards Boston


Michigan Michigan Technological University Houghton


Minnesota Minnesota State Colleges & Universities St. Paul


Mississippi Mississippi Department of Environmental Quality Jackson


Missouri Missouri Department of Labor & Industrial Relations Jefferson City


Montana Montana Department of Labor & Industry Helena


Navajo Nation Minerals Department Window Rock


Nebraska Board of Regents, University of Nebraska Kearney


Nevada Nevada Department of Business and Industry Carson City


New Hampshire New Hampshire Department of Resources & Economic Development Concord


New Jersey New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development Trenton


New Mexico New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology Socorro


New York New York State Department of Labor Albany


North Carolina North Carolina Department of Labor Raleigh


North Dakota North Dakota Department of Career and Technical Education Bismarck


Ohio Ohio Department of Natural Resources Columbus


Oklahoma Oklahoma Department of Mines Oklahoma City


Oregon Eastern Oregon University La Grande


Pennsylvania Pennsylvania Bureau of Mine Safety Uniontown


South Carolina South Carolina State Board for Technical & Comprehensive Education Columbia


South Dakota South Dakota School of Mines & Technology Rapid City


Tennessee Tennessee Department of Labor and Workforce Development Nashville


Texas University of Texas at Austin Austin


Utah Utah State University Eastern Price


Vermont Vermont Department of Labor Montpelier


Virginia Virginia Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy Big Stone Gap


Washington Eastern Washington University Cheney


West Virginia West Virginia Office of Miners’ Health, Safety and Training Charleston


Wisconsin Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services Madison


Wyoming Northern Wyoming Community College District Gillette


Total $8,441,000.00


MSHA News Release: [09/30/2015]
Contact Name: Amy Louviere
Phone Number: (202) 693-9423

Previous articlePrize-winning Methodology for Evaluating CO2 Benefits of “Green” Investments Applied to Hannon Armstrong’s Latest Bond Offering
Next articleCongressman Garamendi Votes to Keep Government Services Operating, 151 in House Vote to Shut Down Government