National Association of Real Estate Editors Announces 2015 Robert Bruss Real Estate Book Award Winners


MIAMI – June 29, 2015 – (RealEstateRama) — The National Association of Real Estate Editors (NAREE) has named the winners of the Eighth Annual Robert Bruss Real Estate Book Competition. The awards recognize excellence in books published in 2014 covering the broad field of real estate.

Author Boyce Thompson won the first place Gold Award in the Bruss competition for his book: “The New New Home” published by The Taunton Press. NAREE’s judges commented that Thompson’s book is, “a valuable survey of what is out there in the production housing market today.” Judges were, “interested in seeing how the cutting-edge features of show homes do or do not make their way into the mainstream.”

Spencer Rascoff and Stan Humphries took the Bruss Silver Award for their book, “Zillow Talk – The New Rules of Real Estate,” published by Hachette Book Group. Rascoff and Humphries’s book is “packed with important information and insight,” the judges commented. One judge noted, “there are valuable tips for buyers, sellers and pros.”

Winner of the Bronze Award was Sheri Koones, for “Prefabulous World: Energy-Efficient and Sustainable Homes Around the Globe,” published by Abrams Books. The book is, “another beautiful work from an author who sets the bar for writing about the prefab world.”

The Best New Author Award went to R. Craig Coppola for “How to Win in Commercial Real Estate Investing,” published by RDA Press LLC. The judges noted that the book is “a helpful guide for getting started in a complicated and intimidating field.”

NAREE’s esteemed panel of judges has many decades of experience as editors. Allen Norwood is a freelance journalist and retired homes editor of the Charlotte Observer; Judith Stark is a freelance editor/writer and retired real estate and homes editor of the St. Petersburg Times and Stephanie Murphy Lupo, is the author of several books and former newspaper editor, columnist and writer for the Palm Beach Daily News and Boca Raton News.

NAREE’s Bruss Book Awards program is named for the late Robert Bruss, syndicated real estate columnist, prolific writer and a longtime NAREE leader. Bruss, who died in 2007, frequently wrote reviews of realty books. The Bruss Book Awards are sponsored by NAREE past presidents Leigh Robinson, founder of the Express Publishing/author of “Landlording,” and Brad Inman, founder of Inman News and Vook.

NAREE, a nonprofit association of writers celebrating 85 years of service to real estate writers, was founded in 1929.

Contact: NAREE Executive Director, Mary Doyle-Kimball for more information at or 561-391-3599

Previous articleNAREE’s 65th Annual Real Estate Journalism Award Winners Announced
Next articleHigh Court Upholds Disparate Impact