Federal Home Loan Bank of Dallas Announces 2016 Advisory Council Members


DALLAS, TEXAS – January 27, 2015 – (RealEstateRama) — The Federal Home Loan Bank of Dallas (FHLB Dallas) is pleased to announce the appointments of Scott Spivey and Felipe Rael to the Bank’s 2016 Affordable Housing Advisory Council (Council). Michelle Whetten, Cynthia Griffin, and Deborah Webster were reappointed to the Council. The new member appointments began January 1, 2016 and will serve three-year terms that expire on December 31, 2018.

The Council is comprised of 13 representatives from state, community, and nonprofit organizations who advise FHLB Dallas’ Board of Directors on affordable housing and economic development issues.

Newly Appointed Members:

  • Scott Spivey is the executive director at Mississippi Home Corporation (MHC) and is responsible for overseeing MHC’s day-to-day operations. He provides executive leadership in the development and administration of all of MHC’s statewide housing programs, including the Mortgage Revenue Bond program and the Housing Tax Credit Program. Having served in various leadership roles with MHC since 1998, Mr. Spivey brings almost 20 years of affordable housing experience to the Council and looks forward to helping advance affordable housing issues.
  • Felipe Rael is the executive director at the Greater Albuquerque Housing Partnership. Mr. Rael has previously served on the City of Albuquerque Affordable Housing Committee, Boy Scouts of America, Great Southwest Council, and National Society of Hispanic MBAs, and brings his passion and knowledge of affordable housing finance to the Advisory Council. As part of the Advisory Council, Mr. Rael hopes to “continue the legacy of strong housing leaders from New Mexico” and says he looks forward to expanding access to capital to promote affordable housing for individuals and families in New Mexico.

Reappointed Members:

  • Michelle Whetten (Chair) is vice president and Gulf Coast market leader for Enterprise Community Partners, Inc., in New Orleans, Louisiana. Prior to her assignment on the Gulf Coast, Ms. Whetten was deputy director for Enterprise’s New York City office, where she led neighborhood initiatives and public policy efforts. During her previous terms, she has provided input on issues in the market that drive investor choices; shared insights on new and emerging federal policies and programs; and communicated her understanding of Louisiana state and local housing policies, issues and programs. As the current executive committee member of the board of the Louisiana Association of Affordable Housing Providers, she is familiar with issues facing the local affordable housing and community development industry and has provided grants, loans and equity to several developers in the state of Louisiana.
  • Cynthia Griffin has served as the executive director of Habitat for Humanity/Metro Jackson (HFH/MJ) since 2005. HFH/MJ has had an extensive relationship with the Bank through the Affordable Housing Program, which has given Ms. Griffin insight into the positive effect the grant program has had on her community. She has also served as vice chair of the U.S. Advisory Council to the Habitat for Humanity International Board of Directors. This role has enabled her to not only be a part of establishing Habitat’s policies for the U.S. affiliate body, but also to serve as an advisor on many challenging issues arising in the industry on a national level surrounding mortgage lending and homeownership.
  • Deborah Webster is a principal at Concept Consulting Group, LLC in Albuquerque, New Mexico. As principal for CCG, she assists housing organizations and agencies in all facets of planning and development of affordable housing and economic development projects. Prior to joining Concept Consulting Group, Ms. Webster spent seven years as the director of the Native American Program for Enterprise Community Partners and was responsible for the implementation of the Native American Program. Ms. Webster has worked in the affordable housing and community development arena for more than 20 years, with experience in both the private sector and nonprofits.

The remaining members of the Advisory Council are:

  • Mr. André Stephens (Vice Chair)                           Forrest City, Arkansas
    Executive Director
    St. Francis CDC


  • Ms. Karen Phillips                                                    Fort Smith, Arkansas
    Deputy Director
    Crawford Sebastian CDC


  • Ms. Arlene Leviege                                                   Marksville, Louisiana
    Housing Program Manager
    Tunica-Biloxi Housing Authority


  • Ms. Cassie Hicks                                                        Hattiesburg, Mississippi
    Housing Coordinator
    University of Southern MS Institute for Disability Studies


  • Mr. Michael Gerber                                                  Austin, Texas
    President and CEO
    Housing Authority of the City of Austin


  • Ms. Jacque Haas Woodring                                     Boerne, Texas
    Board Member
    Commonwealth Multifamily Housing Corporation
  • Mr. Tim Pierce                                                          Lubbock, Texas
    Executive Director
    South Plains Association of Governments


  • Mr. Matt Hull                                                            Austin, Texas
    Executive Director
    Texas Association of CDCs

About the Federal Home Loan Bank of Dallas

The Federal Home Loan Bank of Dallas is one of 11 district banks in the FHLBank system created by Congress in 1932. FHLB Dallas, with total assets of $43.0 billion as of September 30, 2015, is a member-owned cooperative that supports housing and community development by providing competitively priced advances and other credit products to approximately 865 members and associated institutions in Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, New Mexico, and Texas.


Corporate Communications
Federal Home Loan Bank of Dallas
(214) 441-8445

Previous articleThe Boulder Group Publishes Net Lease Big Box Market Research Report
Next articleSupreme Court Delivers Big Win For Energy Efficiency