NAREE’s 64th Annual Journalism Competition Has Categories for Commercial/Residential Real Estate, Luxe and Mortgage


NAREE’s 64th Annual Real Estate Journalism Competition Deadline Is March 1

75+ Awards Will Recognize Excellence for Coverage of Commercial and Residential Real Estate, Real Estate Business, Mortgage Issues, Luxury Housing Trends and More

BOCA RATON, Fla. – February 27, 2014 – (RealEstateRama) — With a growing emphasis on commercial real estate, the evolving real estate industry and luxury real estate, the National Association of Real Estate Editors (NAREE) offers 25 categories to recognize excellence in the extremely broad field of real estate journalism which runs the gamut from residential, commercial and mortgage finance to public policy, sustainable urban and home design, among others.

Mixed-used and high-rise development; transit-oriented projects; redevelopment of historic properties; real estate on Wall Street — securitized mortgages, publicly traded builders and REITs; commercial transactions; online real estate; short sales; multifamily; hotel and resort development; green building and remodeling are among the topics journalists may consider as they select their entries. Staff writers, freelancers, columnists, bloggers and editors are eligible to enter their work published, posted or aired in 2013. March 1, 2014 is the deadline to enter. More categories are also open this year for teams of journalists and digital journalists.

Four categories are designed specifically for commercial real estate journalists:
• Category 6 – Best Commercial Real Estate Report – Daily Newspaper
• Category 11 – Best Commercial Trade Magazine Report
• Category 13 – Best Commercial Real Estate Report – Online or Broadcast
• Category 22 – Best Commercial Trade Magazine

Those writing or editing Wall Street and luxury housing stories may consider:
Category 5 – Best Mortgage or Financial Real Estate Story – Daily Newspaper
Category 9 – Best Residential, Mortgage, or Financial Real Estate Magazine report – Print or Digital
Category 12 – Best Residential, Mortgage or Financial Real Estate Report or Feature — Online or Broadcast
Category 23 – Best Newsletter

Commercial real estate writers, columnists, bloggers and editors — both staff and freelance — along with those covering the business of real estate brokerage, luxury housing and the mortgage market — may also want to enter:
Category 1 – Best Collection of Work — All Media
Category 2 – Best Column — All Media
Category 14 – Best Blog
Category 15 – Best Broadcast Report
Category 16 – Best Breaking News Report
Category 17 – Best Investigative Report or Series
Category 18 – Best Series

The work of some commercial real estate journalists may also fall into Category 7 – Best Small Daily Newspaper Report or Category 8 – Best Weekly Newspaper Report. Teams of journalists covering commercial, residential or the business of real estate may enter Best Team Report and Best Web Site.

A total of 75 Gold, Silver and Bronze Journalism Competition Awards may be presented. The Platinum Award of $1,000 will go to the best overall individual entry. Winner of the Best Freelance Collection will receive $500. The Ruth Ryon Best Young Journalist (age 30 or under) winner and 25 Gold category winners will receive $250 each. Judges also may opt to award Honorable Mentions. The prestigious NAREE journalism competition will be judged by faculty of the E.W. Scripps School of Journalism at Ohio University on clarity of writing, objectivity, originality, depth of reporting, and/or graphic design/production (if applicable).

NAREE’s 64th annual competition is open to entries published in daily newspapers, weekly business newspapers, trade, investment and shelter magazines, commercial real estate publications, wire services, television, radio and web sites. All professional journalists, both NAREE members and non-members, may enter. Entry forms are on under the “Journalism Contest” tab.

Email executive director Mary Doyle-Kimball at with questions.

Awards will be presented at NAREE’s Annual Journalism Conference in Houston, June 11-14, 2014 at the Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria hotel. NAREE Chairman Kris Hudson, Wall Street Journal, and President Daniel Taub, Bloomberg News, will officiate at the Awards Ceremony on Friday, June 13. NAREE’s Houston conference, featuring newsworthy panels and speakers along with outstanding professional development sessions, will draw journalists from around the country.
NAREE has a separate Bruss authors competition recognizing the best real estate books of the year. Deadline information and entry forms are on under the “Book Contest” tab.

Founded in 1929, NAREE is a nonprofit professional association of writers, columnists, editors and authors covering residential, commercial and financial real estate and urban and home design.

Mary Doyle-Kimball, NAREE Executive Director

Previous articleReport Reveals Wide Gap Between Successful and Struggling Communities, Reshaping American Landscape