SBIC Appoints Jury for 2015 Beyond Green™ Awards


WASHINGTON, D.C. – September 2, 2015 – (RealEstateRama) — The National Institute of Building Sciences Sustainable Buildings Industry Council (SBIC) announces the appointment of Jim Whittaker, Keith Diaz Moore and Mary Ann Lazarus to serve as the jury for the 2015 Beyond Green™ High-Performance Building and Community Awards.

“The 2015 jury of experts brings the high level of knowledge and understanding of the building process that we have come to expect when selecting the teams responsible for examining submissions for the Beyond Green™ Awards,” said Institute President Henry L. Green, Hon. AIA. “I am sure their varied perspectives as leaders in achieving innovative, high-performing facilities and communities will serve them well as they begin the process of reviewing and selecting this year’s award winners.”

The Beyond Green™ High-Performance Building and Community Awards highlight those initiatives that shape, inform and catalyze the high-performance planning, design, construction and operations processes. The jury is responsible for selecting those buildings, initiatives and innovations that best exemplify the eight design objectives of high-performance, from all of the entries submitted to SBIC by the September 4 deadline. The 2015 award categories include: High Performance Buildings; High-Performance Attributes and Systems; High-Performance Initiatives; and Innovations for High-Performance Buildings and Communities; as well as the Greg Franta Memorial Award for an individual’s outstanding contributions to high-performance, sustainable building design and construction.

SBIC will recognize the 2015 award winners on Thursday, January 14, 2016, during the Beyond Green™ Awards Luncheon. The luncheon and that day’s two co-located symposia, the Information Resources & Technologies Symposium—Tools and Technologies to Reach Resilience and the Security & Disaster Preparedness Symposium—Realizing Resilience: Incentives for Local Leaders and Lifelines, are all part of a series of events taking place during Building Innovation 2016—The National Institute of Building Sciences Annual Conference and Expo, January 11-15, at the Washington Marriott Wardman Park in Washington, D.C.

James P. Whittaker, PE, CFM, FRICS, is president/chief executive officer of Facility Engineering Associates (FEA), a firm specializing in the built environment and facilities asset management. He holds both bachelor and master’s degrees in engineering and is a registered professional engineer. Credentialed through the International Facility Management Association (IFMA) as a certified facility manager (CFM), Whittaker is the immediate past chair of the IFMA Board of Directors. He is a fellow of the Royal Institute of Chartered Surveyors (RICS). In 2011, Whittaker was appointed to the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine Board on Infrastructure and the Constructed Environment (BICE). He chairs the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) U.S. Technical Advisory Group for the International Organization for Standardization (ISO)/TC 267 Facilities Management Standard and is the convener for ISO/AWI 41000 Facilities Management – Integrated Management System Standard.

Keith Diaz Moore, AIA, is dean of the College of Architecture and Planning at the University of Utah. He is a registered architect with degrees from the University of Illinois (BS), University of Minnesota (M.Arch.) and the University of Wisconsin (PhD). Dr. Diaz Moore is a passionate advocate and an international expert in the connection between culture, health and place, particularly in the area of design for people experiencing dementia, with several books, over 30 refereed publications and more than 100 presentations on the topic. He recently completed a visiting appointment at the Centre on Ageing and Supportive Environments at the University of Lund (Sweden). He founded the Interdisciplinary Resilient Lifestyles Lab at the University of Kansas, which explores the positive influence good design has on healthy living. A recognized leader in socially-responsive design, Diaz Moore is past chair of the interdisciplinary, international Environmental Design Research Association, past president of the Architectural Research Centers Consortium and a winner of the Architecture for Social Justice Award (a program funded by the National Endowment of the Arts).

Mary Ann Lazarus, FAIA, LEED® AP BD+C, was a founder of the sustainable design initiative at HOK, a global design firm whose pioneering green leadership has helped propel sustainability from a fringe activity to a significant mainstream movement shaping the future of architecture. She served as firmwide director of sustainable design at HOK for over a decade and, in 2008, led the formation of HOK’s alliance with the Biomimicry Guild to integrate nature’s innovations in the planning and design of buildings, sites and cities worldwide. Lazarus chaired the program committee for the U.S. Green Building Council’s (USGBC’s) Greenbuild International Annual Conference for five years and helped lead the USGBC response to Hurricanes Katrina and Rita, which resulted in the publication of The New Orleans Principles. She recently served as the resident fellow on sustainability and design for health with The American Institute of Architects (AIA) and authored the AIA’s Sustainability Leadership Opportunity Scan. Lazarus now leads a consultancy focused on accelerating shifts in design of the built environment to sustainable and resilient outcomes. An adjunct faculty at Washington University in St. Louis, she sits on the Advisory Board of the Resilient Design Institute, co-chairs the AIA Materials Knowledge Working Group and is participating in drafting a LEED pilot credit on resilient design.

Whittaker, Diaz Moore and Lazarus will select the winners of the 2015 Beyond Green™ Awards from all of the entries submitted by the September 4 deadline.

Learn more about the Beyond Green™ High-Performance Building and Community Awards.

Register for the Luncheon.

Download the Call for Entries.

Select from the Award Categories to submit your entry.

Previous article7 Tips to Keep Your Labor Day Claims Free
Next articleEPA Kicks Off Campus RainWorks Challenge to Develop Innovative Approaches to Stormwater Management