–Thirteen Agencies Statewide to Share HUD Funded Rental Assistance–

TOPEKA – November 19, 2014 – (RealEstateRama) — Thirteen non-profits and public housing authorities statewide will share $1.675 million in Tenant Based Rental Assistance (TBRA) to help Kansas families obtain safe, affordable housing of their choice. Funded through the federal HOME Investment Partnerships Program (HOME), and administered by Kansas Housing Resources Corporation (KHRC), TBRA helps income-eligible households afford rental subsidies, utility deposits and security deposits.

“These grants provide much needed help for financially stressed families,” said Christine Reimler, KHRC’s HOME Division Director. “The assistance ensures the families will pay no more than 30 percent of their income for rent.”

Awarded annually, TBRA grants are based on a community’s housing needs, the number of households estimated to be served and the organization’s experience in administering TBRA funding. Public housing authorities and non-profit organizations may apply for grants of up to $300,000.

Recipients of this year’s TBRA awards are:


Bert Nash
Rental Assistance, Security and Utility Deposits
City of Lawrence and Douglas County
Charlotte Knoche: 785-842-8110
or Carla Helm: 785-830-1706
Compass Behavioral Health

Rental Assistance, Security and Utility Deposits
Ford and Finney Counties

Khristy Guebara: 620-275-9434 
City of Ellsworth

Rental Assistance, Security and Utility Deposits 
City of Ellsworth

DeAnne Hoch: 785-472-5110
Harvest America

Rental Assistance, Security and Utility Deposits 
Barber, Barton, Clark, Comanche, Edwards, Finney, Ford, Grant, Gray, Greeley, Hamilton, Haskell, Hodgeman, Kearny, Kiowa, Lane, Meade, Morton, Ness, Pawnee, Pratt, Rush, Scott, Seward, Stafford, Stanton, Stevens and
Wichita Counties

John Miles: 913-342-2121


Rental Assistance 
City of Independence

April Nutt or Molly Wright:
Manhattan Public Housing Authority

Rental Assistance, Security and Utility Deposits 
Pottawatomie and Riley Counties

Kari Moore: 785-776-8588
Northeast Kansas Community Action Program, Inc.

Rental Assistance, Security and Utility Deposits 
Atchison, Brown, Doniphan, Jackson, Jefferson, Marshall and Nemaha Counties
Kristy Morey: 785-742-2222,
ext. 156

Security Deposits
Crawford County

Lacie Cottrell: 620-232-1210
Riley County Public Housing Authority

Security and Utility Deposits 
Riley, Pottawatomie, Wabaunsee, Geary, Dickinson, Mitchell, Chase, Clay, Cloud, Ellsworth, Jewell, Lincoln, Marion, Morris, Ottawa, Republic and Saline Counties
Jolynn Colberg: 785-776-9294
Salina Housing Authority
Rental Assistance and Security Deposits
City of Salina

Nichole Carney: 785-827-0441
Southeast Kansas Community Action Program

Rental Assistance, Security and Utility Deposits 
Allen, Bourbon, Chautauqua, Cherokee, Crawford, Elk, Labette, Linn, Montgomery, Neosho, Wilson and Woodson Counties
Timi Houghton: 620-724-8204,
ext. 1004
SW Guidance Center

Rental Assistance and Security Deposits 
Haskell, Meade, Seward and Stevens Counties

Nate Miller: 620-624-8171 
Wyandot Center for Community Behavioral HealthCare, Inc.

Rental Assistance 
Wyandotte County
Sherri Hewitt: 913-288-4211

Kansas Housing Resources Corporation is a self-supporting, public corporation that finances affordable housing opportunities for low and moderate-income residents. We serve as the primary administrator of federal housing programs on behalf of the State of Kansas. For more information about our Tenant Based Rental Assistance Program, please contact Christine Reimler at 785-217-2023, or visit our website.

Keri Renner
Communications Director

Previous article3 Ways Mobile Technology is Improving Construction Jobsites
Next articleSingle-Family Starts Up 4.2 Percent While Overall Production Drops Slightly in October