UT 13457-01 SBA Economic Injury Disaster Loans Available to Utah Small Businesses


SACRAMENTO, CA – January 14, 2012 – (RealEstateRama) — Small, nonfarm businesses in 29 Utah counties and neighboring counties in Arizona, Colorado, Idaho, Nevada and New Mexico are now eligible to apply for low-interest federal disaster loans from the U. S. Small Business Administration (SBA).  “These loans offset economic losses because of reduced revenues caused by the drought that began on September 1, 2012, in the following primary counties,” announced Alfred E. Judd, Director of SBA’s Disaster Field Operations Center-West.

Primary Utah counties:  Box Elder, Carbon, Davis, Duchesne, Emery, Garfield, Grand, Juab, Kane, Millard, Salt Lake, San Juan, Tooele, Uintah, Utah and Wayne;
Neighboring Utah counties:  Beaver, Cache, Daggett, Iron, Morgan, Piute, Rich, Sanpete, Sevier, Summit, Wasatch and Washington;
Neighboring Arizona counties:  Apache, Coconino, Mohave and Navajo;
Neighboring Colorado counties:  Dolores, Garfield, Mesa, Moffat, Montezuma, Montrose, Rio Blanco and San Miguel;
Neighboring Idaho counties:  Cassia and Oneida;
Neighboring Nevada counties:  Elko, Lincoln and White Pine;
Neighboring New Mexico county: San Juan.

“SBA eligibility covers both the economic impacts on businesses dependent on farmers and ranchers that have suffered agricultural production losses caused by the disaster and businesses directly impacted by the disaster,” Judd said.

Small, nonfarm businesses, small agricultural cooperatives, small businesses engaged in aquaculture and most private, nonprofit organizations of any size may qualify for Economic Injury Disaster Loans (EIDLs) of up to $2 million to help meet financial obligations and operating expenses which could have been met had the disaster not occurred.

“Eligibility for these loans is based on the financial impact of the disaster only and not on any actual property damage.  These loans have an interest rate of 4% for businesses and 3% for private, nonprofit organizations, a maximum term of 30 years, and are available to small businesses and most private, nonprofits without the financial ability to offset the adverse impact without hardship,” Judd said.

By law, SBA makes EIDLs available when the U. S. Secretary of Agriculture designates an agricultural disaster.  Secretary Tom Vilsack declared this disaster on January 9, 2013.

Businesses primarily engaged in farming or ranching are not eligible for SBA disaster assistance.  Agricultural enterprises should contact the Farm Services Agency (FSA) about the U. S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) assistance made available by the Secretary’s declaration.  However, in drought disasters nurseries are eligible for SBA disaster assistance.

Applicants may apply online using the Electronic Loan Application (ELA) via SBA’s secure Web site at https://disasterloan.sba.gov/ela.

Disaster loan information and application forms are also available from SBA’s Customer Service Center by calling SBA toll-free at (800) 659-2955, emailing ">, or visiting SBA’s Web site at www.sba.gov/services/disasterassistance.  Individuals who are deaf or hard-of-hearing may call (800) 877 8339.

The deadline to apply for these loans is September 9, 2013

SBA Field Operations Center – West, P.O. Box 419004, Sacramento, CA 95841

Richard Jenkins (916) 735-1500

Previous articleAttorney General Koster reminds Missourians about deadline to file foreclosure claims from National Mortgage Settlement
Next articleLoudon County Living Lists an Ashburn Town Home for Sale